Welcome to my world, 'ente lokam'!

I, N Santhosh, invite all of you to my world, 'en lokam'. Hope you all find something worth watching, or reading here. Enjoy!

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Comes the Cricket Carnival!! World Cup Cricket 2011

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the tenth Cricket World Cup and will be hosted by three South Asian Test cricket playing countries: India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. It will be Bangladesh's first time co-hosting a Cricket World Cup. The World Cup will use cricket's One Day International format, with fourteen national cricket teams scheduled to compete. The World Cup will take place between February and early April 2011, with the first match to be played on 19 February 2011 with co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka. The opening ceremony was held on 17 February 2011 at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka.

Stumpy is the official mascot for the 2011 Cricket World Cup. He is a ten year old elephant who is enthusiastic and is determined.

The official song of the 2010 World Cup "De Ghuma Ke" is composed by the trio of Shankar–Ehsaan–Loy, and is sung in Hindi, Bangla and Sinhala. It has been sung by Shankar Mahadevan and Divya Kumar. It incorporates an array of Indian rhythms, as well as elements of rock and hip-hop. The song was performed in the opening ceremony.

The official event ambassador for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 is Sachin Tendulkar.
The 1983 Cricket World Cup (Prudential Cup) was the third edition of the tournament. It was held from 9 June to 25 June 1983 in England and was won by India. Eight countries participated in the event. The preliminary matches were played in two groups of four teams each, and each country played the others in its group twice. The top two teams in each group qualified for the semi-finals.

The matches consisted of 60 overs per team and were played in traditional white clothing and with red balls. They were all played during the day. England, Pakistan, India and tournament favorites West Indies qualified for the semifinals.

Match Date Teams Venue

1 19 Feb India vs Bangladesh Dhaka

2 20 Feb New Zealand vs Kenya Chennai

3 20 Feb Sri Lanka vs Canada Hambantota

4 21 Feb Australia vs Zimbabwe Ahmedabad

5 22 Feb England vs Netherlands Nagpur

6 23 Feb Pakistan vs Kenya Hambantota

7 24 Feb South Africa vs West Indies New Delhi

8 25 Feb Australia vs New Zealand Nagpur

9 25 Feb Bangladesh vs Ireland Dhaka

10 26 Feb Sri Lanka vs Pakistan Colombo

11 27 Feb India vs England Kolkata*

12 28 Feb West Indies vs Netherlands New Delhi

13 28 Feb Zimbabwe vs Canada Nagpur

14 1 Mar Sri Lanka vs Kenya Colombo

15 2 Mar England vs Ireland Bangalore

16 3 Mar South Africa vs Netherlands Mohali

17 3 Mar Pakistan vs Canada Colombo

18 4 Mar New Zealand vs Zimbabwe Ahmedabad

19 4 Mar Bangladesh vs West Indies Dhaka

20 5 Mar Sri Lanka vs Australia Colombo

21 6 Mar India vs Ireland Bangalore

22 6 Mar England vs South Africa Chennai

23 7 Mar Kenya vs Canada New Delhi

24 8 Mar Pakistan vs New Zealand Pallekelle

25 9 Mar India vs Netherlands New Delhi

26 10 Mar Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe Pallekelle

27 11 Mar West Indies vs Ireland Mohali

28 11 Mar Bangladesh vs England Chittagong

29 12 Mar India vs South Africa Nagpur

30 13 Mar New Zealand vs Canada Mumbai

31 13 Mar Australia vs Kenya Bangalore

32 14 Mar Pakistan vs Zimbabwe Pallekelle

33 14 Mar Bangladesh vs Netherlands Chittagong

34 15 Mar South Africa vs Ireland Kolkata

35 16 Mar Australia vs Canada Bangalore

36 17 Mar England vs West Indies Chennai

37 18 Mar Sri Lanka vs New Zealand Mumbai

38 18 Mar Ireland vs Netherlands Kolkata

39 19 Mar Australia vs Pakistan Colombo

40 19 Mar Bangladesh vs South Africa Dhaka

41 20 Mar Zimbabwe vs Kenya Kolkata

42 20 Mar India vs West Indies Chennai

43 23 Mar First Quarterfinal Dhaka

44 24 Mar Second Quarterfinal Colombo

45 25 Mar Third Quarterfinal Dhaka

46 26 Mar Fourth Quarterfinal Ahmedabad

47 29 Mar First Semifinal Colombo

48 30 Mar Second Semifinal Mohali

49 02 Apr FINAL Mumbai

No comments:

Post a Comment