Welcome to my world, 'ente lokam'!

I, N Santhosh, invite all of you to my world, 'en lokam'. Hope you all find something worth watching, or reading here. Enjoy!

Tuesday, April 5, 2011

World Cup Cricket 2011 Details

Are you a cricket fan? If yes, see the following link
You can see a variety of photos of the cricket stars!
Click Here

World Cup Details
India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in a thrilling final to clinch the World Cup. This is the second  title since 1983. Sri Lanka smashed 91 from their last 10 overs to post 274-6 in Mumbai Wankhade stadium, with Mahela Jayawardene making a superb 103 not out. India lost Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar early on but Gautam Gambhir and Mahendra Dhoni rebuilt the innings. Gambhir was out for 97, but captain Dhoni's brilliant unbeaten 91 led India to an emphatic win with 10 balls to spare. In a nutshell, India 277 for 4 (Gambhir 97, Dhoni 91*) beat Sri Lanka 274 for 6 (Jayawardene 103*, Sangakkara 48) by six wickets.
The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup was the tenth Cricket World Cup, and was hosted by three South Asian Test cricket playing countries; India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The first match was played on 19 February 2011 between India and Bangladesh.
29 matches out of 49 were played in India including one quarterfinal, semi-final and final, 12 matches in Sri Lanka including one quarterfinal and semifinal and eight matches in Bangladesh including two quarterfinals.
Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni who played a wonderful innings in the final was adjudged the man of the match. India's Yuvraj Singh was declared the man of the tournament.
The biggest upset of the torunament was the defeat of England by Ireland. Ireland's Kevin O'Brien scored a century in just 50 balls (and a total of 113 off 63 balls), the fastest World Cup century, while Ireland made the highest successful run chase in World Cup history, against England.

Host(s)                : India,  Sri Lanka,  Bangladesh
Champions            : India (2nd title)
Participants           : 14 (from 104 entrants)
Matches                :  49
Man of the Series: Yuvraj Singh
Most runs       : Tillakaratne Dilshan (500)
Most wickets        : Shahid Afridi (21),  Zaheer Khan (21)
Prize Money
The 2011 Cricket World Cup winning team got a prize money of US$ 3 million and US$ 1.5 million for runner-up, with the International Cricket Council deciding to double the total allocation for the coveted tournament to US$ 10 million. The winning team also got a replica of the ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy, that has been awarded since 1999. The total prize money for the tournament for the teams placing from 1st to 8th is US$7.48 million. The remaining two semi-finalists will receive 0.75 million US$ each. The last four quarter-finalists will each receive 0.37 million US$.

Leading run scorers
Runs Player Team             Matches
500 Tillakaratne Dilshan Sri Lanka       9
482 Sachin Tendulkar India        9
465 Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka        9
422 Jonathan Trott England                7
395 Upul Tharanga Sri Lanka           8
Leading wicket takers
Wickets Player Team            Matches
21 Shahid Afridi Pakistan             8
21 Zaheer Khan India             9
18 Tim Southee New Zealand      8
15 Robin Peterson South Africa    7
15 Yuvraj Singh India            9

No comments:

Post a Comment